Cafe de Nata, Hammersmith, London

Could I pass up the chance to try one of the best Portuguese tarts in London? Nata. I don’t usually strike a blow in Hammersmith, but my friend Judy and I were passing through. Our final destinations being Kew Gardens, yes! We picked up a few treats from Cafe de Nata before making our trek, although I only sampled two flavours. These are priced at £2 each. Or fill up with three for £5, etc. Pastéis de nata, by it’s traditional name, is a baked custard tart. There’s a signature crispy, flaky pastry and it first originated in Lisbon. Here in London they feel more modern with updated flavours like berry, chocolate and caramel. And the nata is excellent, the best I’ve had to date (although I haven’t had many). I enjoyed the pastry, it’s a departure to the ones I’m used to ingesting at the Chinese dim sum places. And the creamy custard in the nata was also delicious, surprisingly filling. Well worth checking out if you’re passing through and if you’re lucky, you might even get them straight out of the oven.

cafedenata.jpg

Cafe de Nata Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

