Wagamama, Holborn, London

Despite my internal protests, part of me is magnetised to Wagamama’s. I end up eating there more than I realise. My big brother was visiting me from all the way from Aucks, and for whatever reason, it was the choice of location for our first catchup meal. I had a voucher too. That was probably it. Waga’s is close to my work, the service is (normally) fast and I’m familiar with most of the dishes. Except not any more, there’s a few new additions. First up was the beef tataki (£6.35) a chill dish, that I’ve grown more fond of in my later years. It was colder than the ones I’ve had but the flavours were nice, the sear is a little more apparent than in other places. The two mains was the chicken katsu curry (£10.50) and the (new) sticky pork belly (£11.95). It’s a citrus and teriyaki glaze on the belly, with a lot of miso aubergine slices. Not sure I loved it, it was a hard dish to share and there was too much aubergine and not enough pork. Especially for a main. The flavours were fine, if not a tad too strong. Overall, the same level of happiness for my typical Wagamama outing.

wagamama-tataki

7/10

Wagamama Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

wagamama-eggplant

Don’t think I need to say anything more about this dish, it’s way familiar with me by now!

wagamama-curry

 

Leave a Reply

