Mr Griffiths, Kensington, Melbourne

Mr Griffiths is a relatively new addition to the Kensington high street and I hate to admit I was initially a bit skeptical when it first opened whether it could deliver anything new or original.  Mr Griffiths is a Canadian inspired burger and beer restaurant and i’m very happy to say my skepticism was completely unfounded.
The chicken burger (G Club) is amazing and I really struggle to think of a better chicken burger in Melbourne. The chicken itself is crisy and delicious. Even though I’m not a huge lover of sauce, the ranch dressing really compliments the burger. Topped off with a brioche bun and it’s a winner all round.

G Club

I don’t eat cheese if i can avoid it and therefore haven’t sampled the Poutine of which there are a number of different options available. I’ve been informed by a few different people that they aren’t the best ever and that the Mac & Cheese Croquettes are instead delicious and moreish. I’ve had the naked Poutine (i.e. Chips) a few times and they have been a bit hit and miss. The first batch were super crispy and delicious however subsequent servings have been less inspiring.

Naked Poutine

Even though this is a food blog i do want to quickly mention the beer. The beer selection is great with a large number of more unusual varieties (including the always delicious Brewdog from my native UK) as well as a number of other local and international choices. I’m a huge lover of Belgium wheat beers and have struggled to find a reasonably priced version in Australia (without having to resort to the grossly expensive imported Hoegarden)  Mr Griffiths however has the most amazing wheat beer (and probably my favourite beer I’ve had in Australia) being the Weihenstephan Hefe Weissbier.
I always enjoy my time at Mr Griffiths and intend to go back time and time again – highly recommended especially the Chicken Burger (G Club). 

8/10

Mr Griffiths Alibis and Libations Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

