Dishoom, King’s Cross, London

Dreams collide in the bacon naan roll at Dishoom. It was my most hyped up dish and it took me a few months to find my way to it. I was meeting a new friend and we had decided on checking on the Dishoom here in King’s Cross. Of the three Dishooms I’ve visited so far, this is my favourite interior by a mile. There’s oodles of seating about and it’s generally very light filled and airy. In some of the more metropolitan Dishrooms you get a sense of crampiness. This could have been due to the vibes of the evening, but I’m sure the King’s Cross is massive in space. Even at breakfast time, it’s always worthwhile booking a table like we did, as the wide space does fill up.

dishoom-chilicheese

I had the bacon and egg naan roll (£6.90) (of course) and we shared the Kejriwal (chilli cheese) toast. And what can I say? The bacon naan is a treat. The freshly baked naan bread is sandwiched with cream cheese, chili jam, herbs, and the aforementioned bacon and eggs. The bacon is dry cured and the overall dish comes across as very sweet, and that’s due to the chili jam. It verges on too sugary for my tastes, but I did enjoy it thoroughly. For me it was a messier eat, than my friend who want for the original recipe bacon no eggs naan. This signature dish is also remarkable for being such good value at that price, this contributes to its enduring popularity no doubt.

dishoom-naan

The second dish was the two fried eggs on chili cheese toast for £5.50. It’s not a full meal on its own, but replicates the feel of Dishoom’s dinner menu whereby things are best shared. There’s a liberal ocean of cheese traversing the diameter of the egg, and the toast is graced with spices and herbs. A nice little finish for a bacon naan start. Again, really happy with the experience at Dishoom – the menu is priced so well, the service spot on, and the food, a good level of exotic indulgence.

8.5/10

Dishoom Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

