Poppies, Brick Lane, London

Legacy and a touch of British culture; our food tour squeezed in both at our stopover at Poppies. The tour company’s pretty thoughtful, my aversion to seafood was easily managed with a substitution to a vege pasty and they take care with any dietary requirements too. Rumour has it that the fish was good so I’ll take the group’s word for it. I enjoyed my half-a-pastie, a nice mix of veges and a buttery, rich crust.

poppies-fishchips

There’s a good-sized crowds of chips but they wasn’t my favourite – the potato tasted a bit drier to the ones I really dig (literally) back home. I come from a potato town, so I’ve always grown with great quality ones and in great abundance. One other very British icon  -mushy peas- came along to mixed reactions of the table. It’s weird but inoffensive to me.

poppies-pasty

7/10

Poppies Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

