Giapo, Auckland CBD

The most exciting part of Queen Street, Auckland is surely the Giapo store. Since it’s explosive launch in 2008 it’s changed a lot of the years and I grew up spending many happy evenings with the gelato. My last visit was on my whirlwind Christmas trip back home and it’s changed even more now, though I feel like we’re growing apart.

giapo-store.jpg

You can’t see the flavours any more and although you can get samples, it was hard to understand the staff and it made the queue that much more longer. The garnishes are now even more extreme and it was hard to enjoy my Samoan caramel popo chocolate-filled yorkshire pudding ($12) with a cup of cocoa clouding my mouth and coating my clothes. Sugar was intense. I still admire the inventiveness of Giapo and it is a lot of fun, but I can’t help feeling it was better with restraint and showcasing the gelato.

giapo.jpg

6.5/10

Giapo Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

