Menya Ramen, Melbourne

Despite the name, I have a feeling the rice dishes might be better here. Menya Ramen has a fantastic location in Melbourne Central and it doesn’t disappoint in speedy food at a great price tag. I popped in for a post-haircut meal and was keen to check it out given the hundreds of times I would have walked past it over my last few years here in Melbourne. As part of the O-bento chain of Japanese eateries, the execution is a tad homogenous for me, it doesn’t quite have the authenticity that you can get at other similar options.

menyaramen.jpg

My dinner was the Tonkotsu ramen ($11.50) and the kitchen was fast with the order, a necessity given the limited seating of the restaurant although there no wait on my particular evening. The bowl was plentiful with with some good bamboo shoots, but the cutlet was a bit on the chewy side and the broth was lacking a bit of flavour. I spied over the table some of the other dishes being ordered and dons were looking fantastic. There’s a few people around who rave about the ox tongue dish but not sure if I’m quite ready for that yet.

6/10

Menya Ramen Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

