Hofbräuhaus, Melbourne CBD

Bavarian isn’t a cuisine that features terribly often back home, so I dragged my friends out to return to Hofbrauhas with me for some meat and carb offerings from the Northern hemisphere. My first few visits of Hofbrauhaus had such vivid memories of ending absolutely stuffed, so I had misguided my crew on this occasion around over-ordering. The quality of the food here is good enough but portions sizes are oddly variable and it’s not a cheap meal out either as well.

hofbrauhaus

The scene here is rather fun and on some nights they do have live music as well. I don’t quite get the layout but it’s a rather big venue, much like how Munich Brauhaus is but more wacky as it’s in an old building in the city. When we were here the Oktoberfest was on, so there was a good crowd all around (other than the guys doing “pineapples” in the bathroom, that was weird). We ordered a bretzel to start and this is a good bet, warm from the kitchen and served with chunky salt atop and whipped butter, yum.

hofbrauhaus3

Main dish one was the lemon schnitzel ($27.50), described as a Vienna-styled chicken breast schnitzel served with side salad, chips and garlic and herb mayo. For the price point, the chips and salad were particularly scarce, the schnitzel was better but not quite outstanding in any aspect of taste. I should mention my previous visit at Hofbrauhaus where I ordered oven roasted pork belly was amazing and outstanding and easily two servings worth. Highly highly recommend that dish, to share.

hofbrauhaus2

The other main was the bratwurst ($19.50) that was served with german mustard and Bavarian spiced sauerkraut. I’m not a huge fan of the ol’ fermented cabbage so I don’t feel qualified to comment on the output of that. The pork sausages were tasty. Good quality, great spices. Meaty, no weird bits. I needed a bit more on the plate and twenty bucks for two sausages and mild sides is a bit too steep for my liking. Good drinks menu but food-wise you really need to hit the pricier menu items to get the proper serving sizes and the full Hofbrauhaus experience.

7.5/10

Hofbräuhaus Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

