NeNe Chicken, Melbourne

A popular Korean fried chicken chain that’s now found its way to Melbourne is NeNe Chicken. Fried chicken is one of my favourite kinds of chicken as well as one of my favourite kinds of fried, and I have been known to spend my lunch times ogling menus from Popeye’s and Zaxby’s. NeNe goes the saucy Asian route and does a literal and metaphorical mixed job, depending on which flavour you go for.

nene
Just wing it

I’ve tried the Original and most recently the Swicy flavour, which I’m advised is one of the more popular ones. These came with a token side of slaw and radish and they do a small number of other menu options outside of the meat. I think I preferred the Original of the two as the Swicy was too sweet and the chicken was much more saucy than I would have liked. If there was rice or something that might have been good to use up some of it but it was messy to eat.

The Elizabeth Street store is a little nicer than the Melbourne Central one as it has seating, and the service was mostly identical across the two. The Swicy chicken was definitely a filling dish and I’d be tempted to come back to try one of the other flavour options. Descriptions like Snowing Vegetable flavour are intriguing. I did find the size and shape of some of the pieces questionable, though my second visit it was more respectable. There’s boneless option too, so I’d be up for giving that a go.

6.5/10

NeNe Chicken Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

