Gin Palace, Melbourne

Juniper berries are my favourite kinds of berries, and also my favourite kinds of juniper. The G&T has become my usual go to drink and not just because it’s the easiest to ask for in my thick, Kiwi accent. So Gin Palace is a place I’ve been keen to hit for some time now, and the perfect opportunity arose when we had a mandatory wait for a table at our dinner over at Rice Paper Scissors. It’s a cosy, intimate venue and had plenty of seating on this weekday night and I did quite enjoy that drinks were ordered and bought over to us rather than a rampage at the counter.

ginpalace

The menu is extensive and the gin and tonics had plenty of quality ingredients and this is reflected on its heftier prices. The glass though is huge and even though we were there a while, I still had to chug the rest down to make our dinner slot. The quantity of ice is also pleasing so it stays Putin-level cool ’til the last drop. I had the gin and tonic with lemon curd, flowers and something else, it was too subtle for me as didn’t taste it much of the extra seasonings at all. Gin Palace has a warm relic-feeling but not dated, that makes for a good, well-serviced spot to hit up on a cold night.

7.5/10

Gin Palace Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

