The Grain Store, Melbourne

My first two lunches at Grain Store were shouty amazing “you should absolutely come here” and “the wait is totally worth it” but the third and final trip started with shocking service and ended with a vow never to return, which I fully intend on keeping. So what’s it like? There’s always a bit of a queue at The Grain Store, so it pays to avoid it with a booking, and once seated the food and coffee game is inherently strong at first glance.

Below is the Portabello mushrooms and gruyere potato rosti with poached eggs, spinach leaves and hazelnut hollandaise ($18). At the time, this was a tasty tasty dish, with a surprising and delightful subtle nuttiness to the hollandaise that bought all the components together in an interesting way. Speaking of way…

grainstore

The third visit started with a staff member telling me off for not holding the door for them while they were delivering coffees. One, I’m completely oblivious and incognisant in the mornings (especially when I haven’t eaten), two, I don’t think it’s my remit to watch what staff are doing and three, I don’t take well to be cussed by staff. That totally tainted the rest of my experience and my morning. Probably the most ridiculous and unprofessional interaction I’ve had in a restaurant to date, and I’ve argued with a market stall owners’s pet parrot before.

If it makes any difference I ordered the Coconut quinoa bircher muesli ($16) and mandarin with green apple, rhubarb, orange yoghurt and gingerbread granola. Too angry for a photo. Dish was probably average with way too many mandarin seeds that I had to pick out and an odd saltiness from all the rage sweat. Of course I did try to raise some brows with the on floor manager, but same shit attitude throughout so what’s the point? Rude, arrogant, avoid.

5/10

The Grain Store Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

