The Corner Chicken Shop, Melbourne QVM

The guy asked if I wanted gravy on the dish, to which I replied “no, thanks” and got returned a puzzled look as if I declared Docklands as Melbourne’s cultural apex. After having the dish, I understand completely.

The Corner Chicken Shop is an assuming stall within the Queen Victoria market and operates both as butchery and chicken shop. It’s an incongruent mix for me personally, but I get over it easily when a place offers such great value. The $5.50 menu offers a quarter chicken and chips and there are other options for ribs and wings, which are fried and look delightful. Eight fifty gets you a full half chicken and chips and everything’s ready in the window ready to go.

cornerchickenshop.jpg

With the quarter chicken you get an option between leg and breast which is handy, and I went for breast as I like a cleaner eat and willing to sacrifice for less tasty and drier meat. You get a decent helping of chips, these are rather standard issue but would have been perfect with the gravy. In fact, that gravy would have been perfect for the chicken too. It was coated lightly in a lemon and herb Portuguese seasoning but I could have done with a lot more. A bit too empty in the end, unlike the pigeon and seagull-filled courtyard that freaked me out a little. Fair value at the Corner Chicken Shop but don’t forget the gravy whatever you do.

7/10

The Corner Chicken Shop Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

