Meat & Wine Co, Southbank

An out of town friend of a friend suggested this location as a good steakhouse, with the commute to the restaurant being great, it’s right along the banks of the Yarra River. We were fortunate to get our own private room for the 8 pax booking, meaning we got a bit of serenity from the rest of the crowd, although part of me also missed being in that mix.

The Pinot noir we ordered and the service over the night was fab with someone checking in at the right intervals. We started with reliably good garlic bread. I’m hopeless at ordering steak as the only meat I ever grew up with was in pie form, but found myself pointed to the rib eye at medium rare. This reminds how terrible I used to be growing up and ordering well done. How times have changed. The selection here is fantastic.

 

So the order. I had mine with the blue cheese sauce and a side of garlic mash. The dishes came out reasonably quickly and it was satisfying cut of meat. Mostly good quality meat, wasn’t quite as lean I was hoping for with the blue cheese sauce subtle and the garlic mash delicate and creamy. The fried onion rings option was also tasty from the string I swiped. At 350grams it was a pretty serious serving and I barely finished.

We were eventually ushered out (next sitting was coming soon) so we missed out on dessert, but that was mostly serendipitous as I was rather full. So overall, a great meaty meal with a price tag to match!

7.5/10

The Meat & Wine Co Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

